Photo Critical

Hey! A call for contributions. Send me an image. Free lessons. Learn to improve your technique. Participate. Provide a lesson/example.

This blog requests reader contributions. I am often asked to explain photography and so here I would like to offer a critique of your photo. You need to upload to me via email and I will try to give an opinion. Please include information about camera, camera settings, and a description of where and when your photo was taken. It would also help to tell me your level of photo experience. The reader is also encouraged to comment constructively.

Dec 2011: Been at it about month. So far no takers except for friends and relatives. I enjoy reading about how to improve photos in the photo magazines. It’s always someone else who’s shown. So it’s your opportunity, the reader, to have a go. Take a chance, learn, and improve. Free lessons. Thank you, David, Susan, Jennifer, and Ginny.

Feb 2012:    Well, I’ve been at this about 100 or more posts and so far no contributors other than what I’ve pulled. So I’ll continue to add as I can. I’ll continue to cajole friends and relatives. Anyone else is welcome to add on or contribute a photo for constructive observations.

comped45961@mypacks.net

5 thoughts on “Photo Critical

  1. If you can forgive me for just commenting you picture on this post and not submitting any picture, I just wanted to say this is really a lovely photograph. I really like the monochromatic value of it. The tones are just beautiful, with the white in the flower glowing intensely. And I like the contrast between the lightness of the flower and the dark leaves and stem(?) on the bottom and right. Really nice work.

    • Thanks, Otto. The picture is there to accompany the post. It was one of those crazy post process conversions in Lightroom. The shot was in early morning. My daughter and I had risen to photograph the sunrise. We were on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean. Walking back to the room, this hibiscus was bathed in the early light. Somehow it seemed a likely candidate to process. I started in BxW but have been seeing in color for so many years that I’m still not yet visualizing BxW.

Leave a comment